Kimberley triumphs at Mendip as Junior Open returns

By Leah Smith in Golf

It was a delight to see, after seven years’ absence, the return of Mendip’s Junior Open. Organised by Club Captain, Richard Jeffrey and Managing Secretary, David Nelson, the event was well supported by some of the local clubs and the field contained both girls and boys. There was a handicap range between seven and thirty.

With the course in superb condition and with super fast greens, the youngsters met the challenge that Mendip provides with great enthusiasm and no little ability.

The overall winner, with a fine forty points, was Kimberley Parker, from Saltford and she was followed home by Ryan Bowden, from Burnham and Berrow, with 38 points. Theo Anderson Gannon, from Yeovil was third, with 37 points and Tom Roberts, from Wells, with 36 points, came fourth.

It is hoped that this event will now remain in the Mendip calendar and with a sponsor already lined up, the future is bright. By this time next year, with the enthusiasm that new Professional, Stuart Disney is showing, it is expected that there will be many more Mendip entrants.

The Men’s Avalon B Team had fine wins over Wheathill, 4–1, home and away. Winners for Mendip in both matches were Duncan Offer and Rob Ware, Richard Clifton and Martin Honeybun, Trevor Oates and Richard Gumbleton and in the first match, Sean and Liam Robertson and in the second match, Jack Vowles and Mervyn Vaughan.

The A Team, with a much weakened squad due to a variety of reasons and other commitments, disappointingly went down 4–1 to Oake Manor.

Successful for Mendip was the strong pairing of Wayne Black and Wayne Srawley. However, they enjoyed a better result when home to Stockwood Vale, winning that match 4½–½.

There were wins for Paul Reakes and Simon Grant, Ian Fairclough and Chris Lindley, Rick Kefford and Steve Coates and Wayne Black and Wayne Srawley. A fighting half was gained by Neil Clarke and Alan Fussell, with Neil scoring an eagle two on the 18th against his opponent’s birdie three!

The Ladies’ Competition this week was a Ping Trophy Qualifier, a Four Ball Better Ball event.

Winning with 40 points was the pairing of Di Stanton and Liz Rose, with Ladies’ Captain Patricia Rawlins and Chris Williams second, with 39, beating Mary Ware and Linda Brobson on countback.

Mendip’s team playing in the Rogers Cup, a County event, were successful when playing Wheathill at neutral venue, Cannington. The final score was 5–2, with wins recorded by Chris Down, Edwina Willis, Anita Butcher, Lulu Carolan and Mary Ainsworth. The Ladies’ Alliance A Team had an excellent win over Bath, who were most complimentary about Mendip’s course and catering arrangements. Mendip winners were: Aimee Sawyer, Gill Brown, Marian Speed, Fran Davies, Vi Hayes and Jo Espley.

The Seniors’ Competition, also doubling as Seniors’ Captain’s Captain’s Day, produced a record number of entrants, with 93 players competing. The course was in tremendous order and the greens were especially fast and true and these conditions led to some excellent scoring.

Division One saw a four-way tie on 37 points and after countback, Stephen Creese emerged as the winner, thanks to a birdie three on the last, with John Shakesby second, not helped by a bogey on the last. Rob Stanton was third and Andy Frampton was fourth.

Division Two was a different story, with a resurgent Derek Bellew running away with it by scoring 43 points and in so doing, earning a two playing shots reduction in his handicap. Second was David Collins, with 39, beating Derek Strudwick on countback.

The Veterans’ Division went to Michael Hawkins, with 37 points, with the longest serving member, Geoff Hayes, second with 36.

There were a number of special prizes provided by the Seniors’ Captain, one of which nearest the pin on the seventeenth hole, went to Chris Bryant, who had a hole in one!

Entry fees and other monies totalling £476 went to the Seniors’ Captain’s Charity, The Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance.

The Seniors’ Team, when home to Weston-super-Mare recorded a 4½–1½ win, with victories for Mike Lill and Martin Osborne, Henry Banks and Alan Edwards (theirs was a big win indeed), Kee Wah Low and Doug Thompson, Nick Inskip and Keith Beasley, with John Whyman and Paul Griffiths gaining a half. When visiting Enmore they were not quite so fortunate, going down 3–5.

Winners for Mendip were John Padfield and Geoff Mosley, Nick Inskip and Mick Sharp and Derek Bellew and Mike Snaith.

Tony Williams