All about the Captains recently at Mendip

By Becky Brooks in Golf

The Ladies’ Captain’s Day was held at Mendip Golf Club and Captain Patricia was delighted with the support she received for her big day. Unfortunately, the weather Gods were not so co-operative and the playing side of the day was rather curtailed. However, enough holes were played to declare a result. The Winning Team was Anita Butcher/Anne Collins/May Curtis with Hilary Rowdon/Chris Williams/Ellen Reakes second and Andrea Williams/Chris Atkinson/Alison Letts, third.

A member of the second-placed team, Ellen Reakes, was competing in her first Ladies’ Captain’s Day. Previously Ellen had made her competitive debut in the Ladies’ Club Championships, where after Day One, she lay in a very creditable fourth position. Why mention this? Ellen is only eleven-years-old and as well as playing a fine game of golf for her age, she was completely undaunted by the two occasions. With the help of Somerset County Coaching, there could be exciting times ahead for young Ellen.

In the Somerset 50+ Ladies’ Championships, there were two fine performances from the Mendip Ladies. Lulu Carolan won the net prize in the 60+ category and Gill Brown won the prestigious Sally Irlam Trophy for Best Gross overall.

The Ladies A Team faced a daunting prospect when visiting a strong Burnham and Berrow team in the Bristol and District Alliance. However, they put up a brave fight, eventually losing 4–10. Mendip’s two lowest handicappers, Aimee Sawyer and Gill Brown, recorded excellent wins.

The Ladies’ Texas Scramble event saw a win for Chris Olds/Linda Brobson/Elaine Richardson with 47 points, with Marian Speed/Karen Cookson/Fran Davies second with 46 and Jinhee Page/Sue Needham/Gina Howard, third with 45.

The Mendip Seniors held their annual running of the Bill Freeman Trophy and again attracted a very full entry. Scoring was very competitive and close. Robert Stanton was fifth after countback with 35 points, just losing out to Andrew Griffiths. Alan Fussell was third with 36 points, again after countback, with Alan Roper in second position. However, the Trophy winner this year is Sandy Keen, showing a welcome return to form after a rather indifferent spell, by his standards, over the last year or so, who scored 37 points. The Veterans’ prize went to Geoff Hayes, with Derek Bellew second and Derek Strudwick third.

The Seniors, when visiting Long Ashton, came away with a 4–4 result with wins from Nigel Hill/Martin Osborne, Philip Moores/John Stembridge, Bob Smallcombe/Norman Squire and Andrew Griffiths/Keith Beasley. Next up was the return fixture against Tidworth, which resulted in a 5–3 victory. Wins for Mendip came from Michael Gardiner/John Whyman, Henry Banks/Michael Sharp, Peter Rummings/Colin Davies, Mike Snaith/John Cross and Martin Lambert/James Boyce. However, this was not enough to win the two fixtures overall, and so the Centenary Trophy goes to Tidworth for the next year.

The latest Seniors’ match saw a 2½–3½ defeat when visiting West Wilts. Wins were recorded by Michael Gardiner/John Padfield and Kee Wah Low/Simon Atkinson, with a half gained by Henry Banks/Martin Osborne.

The Captain’s Charity Day took place and survived the threatened stormy weather. 24 Teams of four competed and the Club Captain did the Competitors proud with some excellent hot dogs on course, washed down with the free beer and cider on offer. New professional, Stuart Disney, joined in the festivities and challenged all competitors to beat his gross score on the seventeenth with their net score.

Winners of the challenge went into a draw, with three lucky ones earning themselves a trip, with Stuart, to play St Mellion. After play, everyone tucked into the hot buffet. Captain Richard thanked all the volunteers for helping make the day so successful, in particular, Chief Organiser, Nola Russell, for all her hard work.

Local personality, Jim King, conducted the Auction and at the end of the day, Richard proudly announced that £4,000 had been raised for his chosen charity, CLIC Sargent. Prizewinners were, in first place, a Mendip Team, comprising of Spencer Pocock, Alex Price, Ali Easton and Jack Ward, with 95 points. Second were Andy Frampton/Ray Smith/Bryan Lewis and David Pilbeam, with 91. Best Visitors’ Prize went to a team from Orchardleigh with 86 points. Best Ladies’ team were Andrea Williams/Cora Pavey/Lulu Carolan/Anne Hopkins, with 72 points, just beating the second-placed team by one point. Best Mixed Team went to Ladies’ Captain, Patricia Rawlins, with husband, Julian, Keith Gadsden and Jinhee Page. Tony Williams