One hundred and ten competitors took part in the Anniversary Cup event and despite excellent playing conditions, only seven players bettered par.

Division One went to Jonathan Watts with a net 69 with Spencer Pocock second with 70 and with his first high finish for a while Richard Jeffery with a 72. Division two was won by Baden Wilkinson with 68, Shaun Rich was second with 69 after count back from Liam Robertson. Division three went to Jon Hugill with 67, Sam Thatcher was second with 72 on count back from Andy Stott and Nicholas Roberts.

However, the overall winner was 16 handicap Mark Smith with a fine net 66. Nick Cox won the Gross prize with 73.

Mendip’s Avalon B Team won their last match of the season when entertaining Weston 3-2 with wins from Tom Rowland/Jeremy Lawrence, Liam and Craig Robertson and Mark Necker/Rob Cook. This resulted in Mendip gaining promotion to Division Five next season. Well done Liam and his team.

Nearest the Pin went to Dan Allen with Clayton Merrett second and Cliff Hall third.

The Ladies Challenge Cup event was won Louise Scott with a net 73 with Aimee Sawyer 2nd with 77 and Margaret Allen third with 79. The Ladies Triple 6 competition was won by Jo Espley and Anita Butcher with 37 points after count back from Jenny Merrett and Anne Hopkins with Fran Davies and Marion Speed third with 35 points.

The Seniors won their latest fixture against Clevedon 4-2 with wins from Roland Greenway/Andy Humphries, Tony Scott/John Cross, Martin Sutherland/Robert Miller and Nick Inskip/Alan Edwards.

Mendip’s Mixed Team played Knowle and came out winners by 5-3. The wins were from Pippa Brown and Clive Copp, Lillian and David Peel, Rebecca Edwards and Tom Rowland, Hilary Rowdon and Martin Osborne and team captain for the day Louise Scott playing with husband Tony.

Tony Williams