A windy affair for Wells Golf Club

The June Mens’ Tweedale was a rather windy affair with some tough tee positions, especially the second. A complete set of hole scores from two to eleven (plus a fourteen) with ten a very popular number for some.

Monday 20th June 2022 8:00 am
A stock image for golf stories.
(Pexels )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

The winners were Division One - Bryan Ashton net 69, second Neil Hitt nett 69, third Liam Litterick nett 69.

Division Two - first Phil Slater nett 67, second Lee Maunders net 69, third Steve Buckley nett 73.

Division Three - first Bill Marcham nett 66, second Chris Strickland nett 67 and third Graham Williamson nett 67.

Club night on Wednesday was even windier with Ian Burr winning with a 12-hole score of 25 points – a special mention to Warren Hamilton who made a second ball chip-in birdie on the tenth after his first ball ended up in the football field.

The Mens’ Avalon team’s good run of form came to a shuddering halt with a 3½-1½ loss away at Vivary – congrats though to Freddie Lovell and Darren Barnett who got the hang of the par 3s and won the Wells teams only full point.

The Senior Mens’ team got back to winning ways with a 4-2 victory against Filton, the result made even better considering three of the Wells team lost additional shots because of the maximum playing handicap of 28 being applied. In the Senior Men’s June Medal, Gerald Tonkins won Division One with a nett 66 and Chris Strickland won Division Two also with a 66.

Of the competitors in the Ladies’ June Medal, six were competing for the Nan Barber Trophy, but only if they were over a certain age! In the Silver Division there was a close fought contest between the two entrants, with Erica Klim, nett 80, just beating Sandy Heath on countback. In the Bronze Division, Sue Slade with a nett 76 just pipped Gill Magrath, again on the countback. Finally in the Copper Division Joan Stembridge (nett 77) was the winner with Patti Jervis (nett 81) runner up. Congratulations to Sue Slade who won the Nan Barber Trophy.

In the Thursday Junior Stableford, Rees Tucker won with 39 points.

Guy Timson

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0