It is very pleasing to be able to start off this first report of the year with recent results from competitions that have been played despite the dreadful weather through the end of December and beginning of January.

Nasty as the recent very cold winds have been, they have done wonders for the course which has dried out very well and fairways and greens are in very good order for January.

There have been three Pro Shop Nearest the Pins Competitions since the last report, won by Tony Logan, Craig Robertson and Steve Davis.

There have been three Pro Shop Stableford events. Seventy three played in the event won by William Burns with 42 points after count back from young Georgie Powell, with Shaun Rich third with 41 on count back from Paul Godwin and Nigel Pidgeon. The next event was won by Simon Jefferies with 39 after count back from Clayton Merrett with Sienna Elliott third with 38 and Alexander Gay was fourth with 36. The third event was won by Victoria Hicks with 40, Sean Thatcher was 2nd with 39, Georgie Powell was third with 37 and Alan Kay was fourth with 36 after a four way tie.

The hardy ladies of Mendip continue to play qualifying stablefords during the worst months of the season and it is hardly surprising that in the four events since the beginning of November, only one score has bettered par and that by a very high handicap player.

In the latest of these 9 hole events, Division One went to Jo Espley with 13 points after countback from Anita Butcher and Anne Collins. Division Two was won by Maggie Brain with 18 points, Kay O’Connor was second with 16 after count back from Elaine Richardson.

One hundred and four Seniors played in the four man Texas Scramble event which produced some exceptional scores. Winning with a net 55 were Nigel Jarvis, Sandy Keen, Kelvin Lum and Mike Tout. It was great to see Mike back at Mendip having recently re-joined after over ten years of absence. In second place were Drew Foley, Chris Lindley, Nick Parfitt and Ken Webster with the best of five teams with 58. Third were Alan Edwards, Robert Miller, Tony Scott and Paul Wood.

Tony Williams