Mendip Golf Club: After several years, Mendip in 2021 re-introduced their Junior Mendip Vase Open event with a very small initial entry. This year saw 35 entrants and also alongside Somerset County ran their Junior Team Championship.

The Trophy winner was George Marshall from Saltford with a fine 42 points. 1st visitor prize went to Freya Keirl from Wells with 38 with Joshua Whittle from Saltford 2nd with 37. Best Mendip Junior was Alec Roberts with 35 with brother Ben 2nd with 31 beating Henry Lewer on countback. Not surprisingly Saltford won the Team Trophy with Mendip’s B Team, Alec and Ben with Connie Cox coming 2nd. The A Team of Henry Lewer, Toby Morris and Owen Roach came 5th.

Firstly two apologies from last week’s report. Third in the Captain’s Trophy was Brian Smith, not Brian Say as stated and in the Ladies Alliance B Team match v Saltford, Jo Espley also won her match.

135 men played the Annual Flower Trophy event at Mendip. The overall winner was Aaron Mitchell with a net 67. The Gross winner was George Morgan with 73. Div 1 went to Dani Annable Manzaneda with 70 with Mat Lambert 2nd on countback with 71. Div 2 was won by John Parham with 69 with John Ellis 2nd with 72 after count back and Div 3 went to Dan Rowe with 68 with Cameron Elliot 2nd with 69 after countback.

Mendip’s men had a fine win in their Somerset Bowl match beating Oake Manor 4-1 taking them into the last 8. There were wins for Dan Allen/Spencer Pocock, Martin Myers/Tom Black, Dean Lewer/Malcolm Srawley and Ian Hall/Rob Cook.

The Mens’ Avalon C Team beat Wells 4-1 with wins from Dean Lewer/Chris Butland, Scott Butland/Malcolm Srawley, Mike Rokitowski/Tony Logan and Joe Gibbs/Clive Copp. The Avalon B Team won away to Long Sutton 3-2 with wins from Liam Robertson/Rob Cook, Alex Gay/Charles Whitaker and Cliff Hall/Rich Clifford.

The Ladies County Qualifying event saw Anita Butcher win Div 2 with 39 points to progress to the County Qualifying event, the Barlow Cup with Ladies Captain Aimee Sawyer winning the Gross and going through to the County Dickinson Cup event.  Jan Fukuyama won Div 1 with 38 points and Pauline Williams won Div 3 with 33.

The Ladies also held an Arizona Shuffle competition won by Dee Garnsworthy/Karen Cookson/Anne Collins/Diane Stanton with 89 points beating Nola Russell/Gina Howard/Allison Rumming/Louise Scott by a single point.

The Ladies Alliance B Team visited Bath losing 4-10 with wins coming from Elaine P Richardson and Chris Down and the A Team halved their match when entertaining Chipping Sodbury. Jinhee Page, Jenny Merrett and Fran Davies won their matches with the all important half being gained by young Connie Cox.

Aimee Sawyer and Ellen Reakes progressed to the semi finals of the Somerset scratch foursomes when their opponents from Bristol and Clifton conceded the match.

The Seniors had a convincing win 5-0 against Stockwood Vale in the quarter finals of the SGU Seniors Scratch KO with excellent wins from Ian Hall, Chris Lindley, Steve Davis and from debutants Charlie Pike and Kevin Keene.

The Seniors friendly team won away to Enmore 4½-1½. Wins came from Bryan Lewis/Andy Frampton, Robert Miller/Martin Sutherland, John Ellis/Andy Humphries and Tony Scott/Rob Richardson with a half coming from John Shakesby/Paul Wood.

The Seniors Competition saw 103 entrants with Bryan Lewis winning Div 1 with 37 points followed by Brian Smith with 36 after count back from Paul Merrett. Div 2 was won by Nigel Brokenshire with 41, Keith Beasley was 2nd with 39 and Terry Carter was 3rd with 38. Div 3 went to Derek Strudwick with the best score of the day 42 with James Boyce 2nd with 39 and John Toull 3rd with 38 after countback from Mike Snaith.

Tony Williams