Well what a day it was at Mendip for Ladies Captain Aimee Sawyer’s Charity Day in aid of the Katie Piper Foundation. A full house of one hundred and fifty two entrants, subsidiary competitions and challenges all over the place, an auction, excellent catering arrangements both on and off the course and a very full clubhouse made for a day to remember for Aimee, the charity and indeed Mendip Golf Club. 

Aimee and her family had put so much work into organising the event and she was so well supported by the Professional Team, many volunteer members and many local Companies.

The main event, a 4 Person Texas Scramble  was won by the Men’s Club Champion, 1 handicapper Scott Butland who was supported by twenty three handicap Steve Pugh and 2 higher handicap members of Orchardleigh, an ideal combination for this type of event. They scored a remarkable net forty nine with a Fosseway Team second with fifty one on count back from a Mendip Team; Simon Jefferies, Trevor Messenger, Colin Wiltshire and Nigel Wiltshire. 

However, the main winner on the day was the Katie Piper Foundation for whom £8,623 was raised, a wonderful result showing the respect and support that Aimee enjoys from her friends, family and Mendip.

Mendip Seniors competed with fourteen other clubs in the annual Enmore Stag Team event and came out winners with one hundred and eighty three points, five ahead of Wedmore in second place with Long Ashton in third with one hundred and seventy six. Representing Mendip were Robert Miller/Tony George, Tony Scott/Rob Richardson, Alan Edwards/Bryan Lewis and Paul Wood/John Ellis. This was Mendip’s first win in the event, well done Robert Miller and his team.

One hundred and one men competed in the annual running of the Sims Cup which saw the best five scores all being sixty eight. Division One went to Alan Clarke with sixty eight with Spencer Pocock second with seventy. Division Two was won by Dan Carey with sixty nine with Shaun Rich second with seventy and Division Three was won by 15-year-old Ben Roberts with sixty eight beating Roland Greenway on count back. However, with the best of the 68’s the Cup was won by Tim Crew. The best gross score went to Charlie Pike with a two over par secenty three.

The Avalon B Team beat Long Sutton 3½-1½ with wins from Cliff Hall/Rich Clifford, Tom Rowland/Jeremy Lawrence and Liam Robertson with Charles Whitaker/Rob Cook gaining a half.

The Ladies Pairs Madina Trophy was run this year as a one day event rather than the usual series of challenges against the Ladies Captain and Vice Captain. The event was won by Louise Scott and Gina Howard. The annual Ladies Captain Team versus the Vice Captain’s Team resulted in an honourable halved match. 

The Millington Salver Mixed 4bbb event attracted a fine entry and saw some fine scoring. Glynn Haddock/Sarah James were the winners with forty three, just beating Martin Wilkins/Lynn Jones by a single point. Victoria Hicks continued her progress and playing with Tom Rowland they were third with thirty nine. Anita and Phil Butcher were fourth with thirty seven after an amazing nine pairs count back!

Tony Williams