Fifteen Wells ladies competed in the October Stableford competition. It was a closely fought contest with three ladies equal first on 31 Stableford points. The winner on count back was Andrea Staples.

The final of the summer 4BBB knockout cup was played at last, having been rained off three times! The winning pair were Philippa Gowen and Katrina Foote winning 6 and 5.

The annual ladies AGM saw Philippa Gowen instated as the new ladies’ captain. As well as the formal business, all the seasons cups were presented.

On Saturday, 7th October, the Avalon League group held their end of year event – a day to celebrate a successful year in the league where we managed to finish a credible third but also to announce our player of the season. Eighteen of the twenty two people who represented the club ventured to the event.

The weather was kind and contributed to a fun filled afternoon being enjoyed by the group. A modified Stableford scoring system was played and ensured that teamwork and birdies were rewarded. To add a bit of excitement, there were a few “punishments” available for the last person in each 3 ball to hit a tree or go in a bunker or a three putt…

Peter and Veronica Cherry had kindly sponsored a number of bottles of wine for the closest to the pin prizes, which went to: Bryan Ashton (5th); Ben Barnett (10th) and Nick Poore (12th), as well as the winners on the day of Ian Burr, John Cooksley and Glen Crocker who scored 54 points.

At the prize giving ceremony at the end of the day, we were able to announce the Avalon Player of the Year. After winning seventy one percent of the games he played and amassing 11.5 out of a potential 17 points, Ian Burr was deservedly crowned as the Player of the Year and received the trophy from captain Peter Cherry and Rory Passmore.

Congratulations to all the Avalon team and we look forward to an exciting 2024 season.

Nicola McLean