The Annual Presentation of the Radstock & District Pool League took place recently.

It was held at Westhill Sports and Social Club and the Committee would like to express their thanks to the Club for hosting it, and for allowing the League to use the venue for the meetings throughout the season. Thanks go to John Newport, as usual he did a sterling job as photographer for the evening, and also to Terry and Annette for providing a lovely buffet.

In a reversal of fortunes, Division One winners were Railway, Radstock whilst previous year winners Westhill Club B replaced them as runners up. In third place were newly promoted Welton Rovers. In Division Two, the champions were Paulton Rovers Social Club with runners up being The Shed who were competing in their first season in the League. Third place went to The Red Post. The Team Knockout Cup was won by Westhill Club B and the Team Knockout Plate went to Midsomer Norton Cricket Club. Neil Ford was Singles champion having last won it in 2002. Neil also partnered Dave Barrett in the Pairs competition and ended up runners up to this years winners George Chubb and Conor Farr.

The Over 50’s competition saw long serving league members Steve Woodham and Andrew Smith battle things out in the final with Steve coming out on top. The Ladies competition resulted in new names being added to the trophies – Chloe Chaplin defeating Anthea Ravensdale and, having competed in the Under 21’s competition as well, Chloe managed the runner up spot after being defeated by Billy Dowling in the final.

The Captains Cup winner was George Chubb (Rovers Return) who beat Gary Harvey (Railway, Radstock) who was also runner up in 2022.

Division One and overall Player of the Year was Steve Woodham (Westhill Club B) and Division Two Player of the Year was Tony Pow (The Shed).

Mike Denning