One hundred and thirty seven men competed at Mendip for the Anniversary Cup.

Division Three went to Josh Seviour with a net sixty-six, beating Sam Robertson on count back. Rich Clifford was third with sixty eight again after count back.

Division Two was won by Pro Shop Assistant, Sam Scriven with sixty eight, Chris Roe was second with sixty nine, beating Merv Vaughan on count back.

Division One saw another win for the in form, James Church with sixty eight, winning on count back from Tom Chapman and Jack Hayes. However, the Trophy Winner with an outstanding net sixty one was fourteen handicapper, Stephen Rushton who now sees his handicap fall to 11.6, well done Stephen.

The Mendip Ladies held a four person Bowmaker event which attracted thirty two players, a smaller field than usual but with several Mendip Ladies playing in a mixed event at the Club.

Clear winners with 105 points were Ladies Captain, Anne Collins/Allison Rumming/Susy Rudkin/Gina Howard. In second place came Liz Rose/Diane Stanton/Val Dixon/Elaine Richardson with ninety eight and in third place with eighty nine, after count back, came Diana Stevenson/Alison Letts/Caroline Laws/Caroline Simper.

The Pro Shop Nearest the Pin event went to Ellen Reakes with Matt Bendall second and Scott Butland third. In a second, Nearest the Pin event, Ellen was once again victorious with Andy Griffith second and Tony Taylor third.

Blessed with lovely weather and with the course in splendid order, 143 members took part in the eighteen hole event with a further seven in the nine hole event.

Division Three went to Andy Stott with thirty eight points with Andrew Ashman second and Steve Hodson third.

Division Two went to Chis White with thirty nine points, beating Chad Patel on count back with Tom Webb third with thirty seven, again on count back.

Division One went to Dean Lewer with a fine forty points with Sam Scriven second with thirty nine and Tom Chapman was third with thirty eight after count back.

However, the overall winner with an excellent forty two points was five handicapper, Ben Cox whose sub par round contained five birdies.

The nine hole event went to Eileen Masters with seventeen points. The Ladies first prize was won by Allison Rumming with thirty five points, with Lyn Jones second with thirty four points.

Sarah James was third with thirty-one points beating new member, Penny Oliver, on count back. Ffion Richardson, with thirty eight points was best Junior with Dilan Perkins second with thirty-seven.

A special mention to two juniors, Grant Jeffrey played his first full eighteen hole competition. He played with Dad, Richard and Grandad, Henry and scored forty one points.

Young Henry Lewer, age nine is a new member and in the Pro’s eyes, he is really talented. He played off the white tees, a pretty daunting task for a nine year old and he completed his round. Definitely one to watch for the future.

The Pro’s weekend was a real team effort and special thanks went to the Pro Shop Team of James, Sam and Mikey.